2014-01-17 / Sports

St.Francis De Sales 28th Annual Basketball Christmas Tournament

Over the last two weeks, 36 teams came to show off their basketball skills at St. Francis De Sales.

The annual Christmas Tournament this year consisted of boys from the grades of three through eight and had teams from all over Queens, as well as from Brooklyn and Long Island. The action was non-stop and full of excitement.

On Sunday December 29th, six championship games were played and those games were decided by a total of 23 points. The fever pitch at which these games were played at brought many cheers from the great crowds, who packed the gym for this big day of basketball.

The results of the Sub-Novice (3rd grade) Division were St. Patrick’s of Brooklyn besting SFDS Blue in OT. SFDS tied the score with 0.4 seconds left on a jump shot by Robert Shaw, but in OT, St. Pat’s was able to hold off the tough SFDS Blue team. Shaw was joined on the 3rd grade all-tournament team by teammate Steven Colletta, while Liam Hughes was selected as Outstanding Player for his efforts and Jack DeBoer received his team’s sportsmanship award.

While SFDS Gold Sub-Novice team had Frankie Walker and Kevin Murphy selected to the all-tournament team. Phil Kelly was given the sportsmanship award for SFDS Gold.

In the Pee Wee (4th grade) Division, Our Lady of Angeles beat SFDS Blue by one in another exciting game. Dylan Loconte was the Outstanding Player for SFDS Blue, while Lenny Mannino and Pete Maiorano were all tournament selections. Matt Glynn won the sportsmanship award. For the SFDS Gold team, who played well in this tournament, Luke Carson and Matthew Marten were all tournament selections and Ryan Urcuroli won the sportsmanship award.

The Novice (5th grade) Division had a finals matchup of SFDS A vs. St. Patrick’s.

In a back and forth game SFDS held on to the win by 4 points. Aidan Harkins hit a foul shot in the closing seconds to ice the game helping Coach Marty Andresen to win another Christmas title.

Harkins and TJ Mahoney were chosen for the all-tournament team, while Mike Tuffey was selected MVP of this division. Nico Allen won the sportsmanship award for his team.

For the SFDS B team, Kieran Howard and Mike Colletta were selected all tournament and Greg Tracy received the sportsmanship award. For St. Rose of Lima, Andrew Burns and James Alkarim were all tournament players. Timothy David won the sportsmanship award for his team.

In the Bantam (6th grade), SFDS A played against St. Margaret’s. SFDS dominated the game early and cruised to a 10-point win. Coach Terence Mullin’s team played with great poise and teamwork. James Resker was named MVP of this division.

Mikey McManus and Ian Byrne provided great shooting and passing to their team’s victories, which helped earn them all-tournament team honors. Dillon Ostrander was given the sportsmanship award for his team.

The SFDS B had Michael Light and Seamus O’Connor selected to the all-tournament team. Kiernan Smith won the sportsmanship award. For St. Rose of Lima, Darius Peterson and Issac Daudelin were named to the all-tournament team. John Daudelin was chosen for the sportsmanship award.

In the Rookie (7th grade) Division, Our Lady of Angeles beat St. Agnes of Rockville Center to win the championship. SFDS A finished third in this division. For SFDS A, Jack Casey and Jack Mullally were selected all tournament. Terence Moriarty won the sportsmanship award.

Matt McDade and Nicholas Donahue were all tournament SFDS B. Nico Perrini won the sportsmanship award.

For St. Rose of Lima, Kevin Moriarty and Michael Descilin were all tournament. Bryan Bostwick was given the sportsmanship award.

In the Immediate (8th grade) Division, St. Agnes of RVC won the championship game by two points over St. Adalbert’s in a thrilling game. SFDS A finished in third place in this division. Making the all-tournament team for SFDS A were John-John Moran and Jag Guidarelli. Timmy Connolly, who also played extremely well, was given the sportsmanship award.

For SFDS B, Brendan Vasquez and Patrick Connelly were all tournament selections and Jake Murphy was chosen for the sportsmanship award.

St. Francis De Sales also gave out special awards to their parish teams: For 3rd grade, the Joe Burns award went to Colin Peterson, the Danny Onorato award went to Matt Frost, the Mike Andrews award went to Jaime Franchock, the Chris Scharbach award went to Chase Diblasio, the Shelley Matusoff award went to Steven Colletta, the Jim Morley award went to Dylan Marco.

For the 4th grade, the Peter Mc- Manus Sr. award went to Aidan O’- Sullivan, the Richie Bogart award went to Mike O’Sullivan, the John Cunneen award went to Patrick Ayrovian, the Jim McKeon award went to Aiden Keane, the Jack Bender award went to Nicholas Abernathy and the Brendan McDonough award went to Charlie Smith.

For the 5th grade, the Dorothy Brenna award went to Sean Peter Mullen, the Chris Lawler award went to Colin Byrne, the Marty Andresen award went to Matt Tubridy, the Kathy Lawler award went to Thomas Allison, the Terry Flynn award went to Mike Duffy, and the Bill Dunn award went to Joe Montellaro.

For the 6th grade, the Msgr. Geraghty award went to Terence Marten; the Eileen Lavin award went to Kyle Cornish, the Charlie Heeran award went to Jack Collins, the Randy Neiswenter award went to James Touhey, the Walter Blum award went to Patrick Powerly, and the Dylan Smith award went to Danny Endall.

For the 7th grade the Michael Glover award went to Terence Moriarty, the Sean O’Hagan award went to Connor Bradwisch, the Kevin Coursey award went to James Byrne. For the 8th grade, the Fr. Thomas Doyle award went to Matthew Ostrander. The Joe DeMarco award went to Patrick Connelly.

The Joe Kennel Sr. award went to Corey Walker and the Keith “Bugsy” Goldberg award went to Liam Howley. The Teddy Marshall award went to Jordan Walker and the Tommy Maher award went to Joseph O’Connor.

All in all it was another excellent tournament run by Marty and Keith Andresen. All of the kids, coaches and parents who participated in this event would like to give a special thanks to our Pastor, Father Doyle for the use of the gym and schoolyard during this time.

A big thanks also went out from organizers to Jack Bender, Michael “Bert” Friedman, John Duggan, Matt Colletta, Kevin McEachern, Tim Harkins, Randy Neiswenter, Rose Neiswenter, the SFDS Cheerleader team, AKB Security World Wide and the many others who went above and beyond in helping out in the gym and kitchen during this tournament.

Return to top

Email Us
Contact Us

Copyright 1999 - 2016 Wave Publishing Co. All Rights Reserved

Neighborhoods | History



Check Out News Podcasts at Blog Talk Radio with Riding the Wave with Mark Healey on BlogTalkRadio