2013-09-06 / Sports

Rousing Close To Summer Classic

The 29th St. Francis Summer Classic came to a rousing close on Friday night August 30th. Nearly 1000 people streamed through the schoolyard as champions were crowned in five divisions. The evening began with the Boys Grammar Middle as the sole game at 6:00 p.m. The tone for the evening was set as McManus Mechanical and www.Pro1tireservice.com displayed a high level of play as they battled for the championship.

Both teams were balanced, scoring inside and out with many players contributing. Pro1tireservice held a 20-15 lead at the half but McManus chipped it to 31-30 after three quarters. The game stayed tight the rest of the way, but Pro1tireservice held on as Kevin Connelly scored 8 of his 11 points in the 4th quarter for a 43-41 win. Ian Byrne also scored 11 and Dino Borelli added 7. Michael McManus scored 10, Billy Reyes 9, Michael Henglein 7, Timmy Murnan 7, and Kevin Langan 6 for McManus Mechanical.

Joe Featherston coached the champs and the team also included Seamus O’Connell, Donato DiGiacomo, Thomas Charles, Sean Thornton, Timmy Mehta, John Daudelin, Thomas Daudelin, Isaac Daudelin, and Joseph Featherston.

At 7:00 p.m. play also began on Court 3 with the Boys Grammar Senior championship. Kill, Wood, Ace & Mann took a 13- 6 lead after one quarter and never looked back. Walsh Management made some valiant runs but never fully threatened. Coach Jack Bender’s squad was led by JP Moran’s 25 and Matt Edwards with 8. Matt Coletta topped Walsh with 14 and Rasheed Anifowoshe added 11.

In addition to Moran and Edwards, Eddie DeMatteis, Justin Moran, Robbie Rose, Chris Florio, Jarrett Johnson, Timmy McCabe, and Peter Tuffey all contributed to the championship for Kill, Wood, Ace & Mann.

The second game on Court 2 was the Boys High School final. With many seniors gone to college, the underclassmen took the spotlight. Kevin Crockett of BRS and Bard Featherson of Total Office Planning appeared headed for a shootout. BRS led after one as Crockett had 8 in the opening quarter, but Featherston heated up in the second and had four 3’s and 15 points at the half, as a 21-4 spurt put Total Office in control.

BRS came back strong but Total Office was able to turn to Ray Marten for additional scoring as well as his defense and rebounding. Patrick Goldberg returned home from the College of Mt. St. Vincent to provide senior leadership, and Chris Boyhan took over the ball handling duties to great effect. Alex Moule, Kevin McDonagh, and Tommy O’Connor were also instrumental in the 55-50 win. Crockett finished with 24 and James Kelly added 17 for BRS. Total Office Planning was coached by Joe Courtney and John Ronayne and the rest of the champions are Jimmy Wolfer, Jeff Lavin, JR McDonagh, Ryan McMahon, and Conor Rayder.

Courtney quickly changed out of his coaching duds and into his playing threads as Rock Park All-Stars took the court against Nickles & Dimes in a rematch of the 2012 Men’s Open championship.

Meanwhile on Court 3, wife Loretta took the reins for Belle Harbor Breezy Point Physical Therapy in the Girls Grammar Senior final against Walsh Properties. Things seemed to be going to form as Walsh took a 17-13 lead at the half but Lauren Marten sparked a decisive 3rd quarter for BHBPPT with 9 of her 17 points to put Walsh behind 27-21. The 4th quarter was evenly played and Belle Harbor Breezy Point Physical Therapy held on for the win and the championship, 38-32. Erika James had 11 and Courtney McCool 9 for Walsh Properties. Katie Marquardt and Meghan Glynn each added 8 to Marten’s 17.

Julie Stack coached with Loretta Courtney and the players are Marten, Marquardt, Glynn, Carly McCann, Kiersten Colvin, Lindsay Colvin, Maddie McDade, Hannah Harkins, Abigail Sinclair, Grace Sinclair, and Andrianna LaMendola.

With two shirts already in the closet, Courtney completed the family hat trick, setting a Summer Classic record as Rock Park was too much for a beat up Nickles & Dimes squad. The All-Stars stretched a 36- 25 halftime lead to cruise to a 70-41 victory. The Rock Park All-Stars are Joe Courtney, Dee Tubridy, Terence Tubridy, Tom Tubridy, Danny Dougherty, Timmy Dougherty, John Foley, Keith Tilly, and Eddie Sullivan.

Thanks to all for a great and truly memorable year. We look forward to returning to a regular schedule as we celebrate our 30th year in 2014.

Return to top

Email Us
Contact Us

Copyright 1999 - 2016 Wave Publishing Co. All Rights Reserved

Neighborhoods | History



Check Out News Podcasts at Blog Talk Radio with Riding the Wave with Mark Healey on BlogTalkRadio