2012-04-20 / Sports

Peggy Boyle Basketball Tournament Concludes 14th Season

The 14th Annual Peggy Boyle Girls Basketball Tournament at St. Francis de Sales was a great success once again. Thirty-eight teams in six age divisions competed with champions crowned on Saturday, March 24.

The Subnovice title was taken by St. Hedwig of Floral Park, LI with a 10-8 win over SFDS L. Nicole Paprocky of St. Hedwig was names MVP. For St. Francis, Lauren Dean received the Outstanding Player Award. Brooke Leahy and Maeve Murnan were named to the All-Tournament team, and Olivia Stack received the Sportsmanship Award. SFDS M had a strong tournament before getting knocked out by SFDS L.

In the Pee Wee division, St. Adalbert, Elmhurst defeated St. Rose of Lima, Rockaway Beach, 17-10. Catherine Finnerty of St. Adalbert received MVP and Morgan Connolly of St. Rose was the Outstanding Player. SFDS H knocked out SFDS G before falling to St. Rose in the semi-final.

The SFDS Novices added to their Diocesan Championship with a thrilling 14-12 triumph in overtime against Mary’s Nativity of Flushing. Kelsey Flynn was MVP and Ryan Carlton and Alexandra Dadario were All-Tournament selection. The Sportsmanship Award went to Hannah Harkins. Sabrina Soerdjpal of Mary’s Nativity was named the Outstanding Player.

SFDS also took the Bantam crown as Katie Marquardt garnered MVP honors in a 30-27 win over Good Shepherd, Marine Park. Jessica Morelli and Breanne McDonald were All- Tournament. Megan Duffy received the Sportsmanship Award. Marie Holstrom of Good Shepherd was Outstanding Player.

Blessed Sacrament, Staten Island prevailed over Diocesan champion St. Adalbert, 29-21 in the Rookie championship. Brittney Williamson of Blessed Sacrament was MVP and Lauren Batac of St. Adalbert was Outstanding Player.

SFDS was eliminated with one loss to each of those two teams.

The SFDS Intermediates lost the final game of their CYO career to a solid team from St. Margaret, Middle Village. The championship was won by Our Lady of Lourdes, Queens Village, 35-19, over St. Stanislaus, Maspeth. Chyna Hardy of Our Lady of Lourdes was MVP and Ciara Walsh of St. Stanislaus was Outstanding Player.

Special Awards were presented by Caitlin Boyle to SFDS players who best exemplified throughout the season, the qualities taught by Peggy Boyle, of sportsmanship, team spirit, and fair play. These were given in honor of former SFDS players and coaches who contributed greatly to its strong tradition.

The recipients are: Bridget Kelly Hillier Award - Casey Gilroy; Moira Keenan Mullen Award - Chloe Murphy; Kerry Anderson Award - Hannah Skammel; Katie Raphael McCann Award - Kaysea Jenkusky; Kathy O’Connor McDonagh Award - Jillian Howard; Meghan Courtney Flanagan Award - Sinead Gallagher; Annie Egan Lawler Award -Emma Meade; Betty Goldberg Memorial Award - Johanna Sullivan.

Tournament organizers say, many thanks to all the players, coaches, referees, and volunteers, including the Graybeards and Scorers Table staff, the Door Committee, the Kitchen Crew, Msgr. Brown and the rectory staff, and especially the Peggy Boyle Tournament Committee - Elaine Scotto, Tim Harkins, Ronald Whelan, and Randy and Rose Neiswenter.

Return to top

Email Us
Contact Us

Copyright 1999 - 2016 Wave Publishing Co. All Rights Reserved

Neighborhoods | History



Check Out News Podcasts at Blog Talk Radio with Riding the Wave with Mark Healey on BlogTalkRadio