2010-08-06 / Front Page

Rockaway Schools 2010 ELA Scores

Students are rated on a Level 1 to Level 4 basis. Level 1 denotes a student that is not meeting standards. Level 2 denotes a student just meeting standards. A Level 3 student is proficient and a Level 4 student far above standard. For the purposes of this test, those students who are on Levels 3 and 4 are considered “passing.” Note how the percentage of passing students went up in most schools each year from 2006 to 2009, when the “cut score” – the number of correct answers necessary to reach a certain level – was decreased. This year, however, after lots of controversy, the state decided to raise the cut score, which significantly lowered the number of students in Levels 3 and 4. Opponents of using reading scores to decide on firing teachers and closing “failing” schools point to the way the scores can be manipulated as a good reason for not following those practices.

Return to top

Email Us
Contact Us

Copyright 1999 - 2016 Wave Publishing Co. All Rights Reserved

Neighborhoods | History



Check Out News Podcasts at Blog Talk Radio with Riding the Wave with Mark Healey on BlogTalkRadio