2009-11-06 / Sports

St. Francis Runners Compete In Sectional Championships

The Junior Boys team of Patrick Rocks, Christopher Thuilot, Bobby Dunn, Thomas Glynn, Alex Goldberg, John Glynn and Denis Murtagh before the start of their race. The Junior Boys team of Patrick Rocks, Christopher Thuilot, Bobby Dunn, Thomas Glynn, Alex Goldberg, John Glynn and Denis Murtagh before the start of their race. On Sunday, October 25, sixty-six St. Francis de Sales runners competed at Alley Pond Park in the CYO Sectional Championships with outstanding re - sults. The Sectional Championships divided the eleven competing parishes into two sections; Black and Yellow. Competing in five age and gender divisions in the Black section, SFDS won three championships.

Running is an individual endeavor but cross-country is a team effort. To determine the score, the places of the top three finishers from each team in a race are added, the team with the lowest total is champion; the next lowest score is second, etc.

Also, individual medals were awarded to the top 15 runners from each section in each race.

The SFDS runners focused on their pacing while pushing themselves to pass as many competitors as they could. In addition to team honors, thirty three St. Francis runners won individual medals.

The bantam girls, running .6 miles, won their sectional championship with a perfect score of six points as Colleen Gallagher, Cara Melchiorri and Gwyn McGee placed first, second and third, respectively. Also finishing were Gab - riella Grzegorski (10th), Hayley Urban (11th), Erin Charles (13th), Jessica Morelli, Kayla McHenry and Fiona Brackley.

The novice girls won their section with excellent racing by Kelsey Flynn, who placed first overall. Kelsey's time of 3:18 for the half-mile race was faster than the first finisher in the boys nov - ice race. Catherine Lunny (4th), Paige McDade (6th), Caroline Gifford (7th), Kathleen Walker (8th), Katie Roven - tini, Emily Richter, Mollie Abernethy, Kaylie Walsh, Shaun Smith, Fallon Brackley, Anna Hickey, Molly Mur - tagh, Bridget Donnelly, Portia Brack - ley, Camille Kelly and Lauren Mitter - nay made up the rest of the team.

The novice boys team was led to their first place gold by Joseph Alessandro, first overall, Michael Tuffey (3rd), and Matthew McDade (4th); with Kyle Cornish (5th), Liam McIvor (6th), Jack McDade (9th), Joseph Featherston (11th), Kevin Connelly (12th), Dylan Abernethy (13th), Brendan Glynn (14th), Kiernan Smith, Shawn O'Keefe, James Carson, Danny Cornish, Dom - inick Maiorano, Terence McFadden, Timothy Mehta, Michael Light, Sean Peter Mullen, Mark Mehta, Joseph Mortellaro, and Brendan McFadden run ning strong.

The junior boys placed second in their sectional race behind the efforts of Alex Goldberg (4th), Denis Murtagh (9th), Thomas Glynn (11th), Patrick Rocks (13th), John Glynn, Christopher Thuilot and Bobby Dunn. The bantam boys placed second in their sectional race with the strong running of James McManus (2nd), Joey Morelli (5th), Peter Tuffey (9th), James Lunny (13th), Gregory Henschel (15th), Grif - fin Brackley, Robert McManus, Patrick Connelly and Bobby O'Connor.

Congratulations to all the runners on their excellent performances.

Return to top

Email Us
Contact Us

Copyright 1999 - 2016 Wave Publishing Co. All Rights Reserved

Neighborhoods | History



Check Out News Podcasts at Blog Talk Radio with Riding the Wave with Mark Healey on BlogTalkRadio