2009-03-27 / Sports

Basketball Teams Crowned At Peggy Boyle Tournament

The 11th Annual Peggy Boyle Girls Basketball Tournament concluded with a full slate of exciting games on March 14 and 15.

The weekend began with St. Francis Gold taking on St. Francis Blue in the Subnovice semi-final. Both teams played their hearts out, but in the end, the Gold prevailed and moved on to Sunday's championship. St. Francis Gold then ran into a buzzsaw from Good Shepherd, as the girls from Brooklyn claimed the championship.

Saturday's Pee Wee game was a rematch of the Diocesan championship game, and once again, Blessed Trinity White overcame the Green. The finals gave the hosts St. Francis an opportunity to finish on a high note, after a disappointing loss in the Diocesan semi-finals.

The game was a low scoring affair with spirited defense ruling the day. St. Francis was scoreless at the half, but took the lid off long enough in the second half to pull out a 6-5 victory. Courtney McCool garnered MVP honors while Maria DiCarlo and Lauren Marten were name All-Tournament, and Devin Gavigan received the Sportsmanship Award

In the Novice division, Long Beach Catholic worked its way back from the loser's bracket by beating St. Mary Gate of Heaven on Saturday. St. Francis then looked to add to their Diocesan championship, but had a difficult task as Tournament MVP Therese Gallagher was unavailable due to the flu.

Lauren Guidarelli stepped into the void with six points, and Julianna DeSilvia, Emily Carlton, and Jenna McCann were all over the court as St. Francis won 18-13. Kathryn Gibson was named All-Tournament, along with Jenna McCann. Emily Carlton received the Sportsmanship Award.

The Bantams ran into their nemesis, Our Lady of Hope, on Saturday and once again fell to the squad from Middle Village. St. Adalbert then repeated their Diocesan Championship defeat of Hope to capture the Peggy Boyle crown.

The Rookies had already advanced to the finals where they faced Our Lady of Hope. The SFDS Rookies also could not get past Hope. Daisy Trusttum was selected as Outstanding Player. Megan Atwood and Casey McDade were All-Tournament, and Kristie Carey received the Sportsmanship Award.

The St. Francis Intermediates were hoping to make their final Peggy Boyle Tournament a memorable one, and played with spirit and energy in the semi-finals. Unfortunately, St. Margaret matched that energy and squeezed past the hosts to get into the championship where they also outlasted a strong Blessed Trinity squad to take the title.

Once again, a highlight of this year's tournament was the Special Awards ceremony by recognizing one player on each St. Francis team for their outstanding sportsmanship, effort, and character throughout the year.

The awards also honor great contributors from the storied past of St. Francis girls basketball. The awards this year are:

Laurie Mann Award -Lindsay DeBoer from Subnovice Blue; Gail Gallagher Award- Clare Hughes fromSubnovice Gold; Marybeth Andrews Award- Nicole Gibson from the Pee Wee team; Cathy Howley O'Brien Award-Shannon Rochelle from the Novice team; Paul Fitzgerald Award-Kerri Brennan from the Bantam team; Betty Goldberg Memorial Award- Shannon Twomey from the Rookie team; Clare Kennedy Award-Erin Blum from the Intermediate team.

Many thanks to all who participated and assisted again on another great tournament, particularly Elaine Scotto, Ronald Whelan, John Blum, Randy and Rose Neiswenter, the Graybeards, Team Reps, Kitchen Crew, Cleanup Staff, and the spirit of Peggy Boyle, who continues to inspire us all.

Return to top

Email Us
Contact Us

Copyright 1999 - 2016 Wave Publishing Co. All Rights Reserved

Neighborhoods | History



Check Out News Podcasts at Blog Talk Radio with Riding the Wave with Mark Healey on BlogTalkRadio