2009-01-16 / Sports

Rockaway Sparks Brooklyn Hurricanes Awards Dinner

Kevin Crockett (7) Kevin Crockett (7) The Brooklyn Hurricanes celebrated the end of another terrific season of youth football with their Pee-Wee Division Awards Dinner last Friday night at the Barron DeKalb Knights of Columbus in Sheepshead Bay.

The Legionnaires were recognized as Division Champions and Kevin Crockett (#7), of Breezy Point, was named team MVP. The highest honors of the night came at the end when the League Awards were handed out.

Rockaway was well represented with 4 of the 6 league award winners. Aidan Morgan (#66), from the Huskies, won the Best Offensive Lineman Award. Ray Marten (#90), from the Giants, won the Defensive Lineman Award and John Strehle (#9), from the Legionnaires, won the Most Outstanding Linebacker Award.

The top honor went to Dennis Barnes (#1), from the Legionnaires, who walked away with the "Danny Suhr Award," which is given to the League's Most Valuable Player. It was a great night for all the Hurricane football players, aged 10 to 12 years old, who practiced hard all season and went out every Sunday morning and gave their best effort. The Brooklyn Hurricanes Football Conference is looking forward to another great year in 2009!

Aidan Morgan (66) Aidan Morgan (66) John Strehle (9) John Strehle (9) Ray Marten (90) Ray Marten (90)

Return to top

Email Us
Contact Us

Copyright 1999 - 2016 Wave Publishing Co. All Rights Reserved

Neighborhoods | History



Check Out News Podcasts at Blog Talk Radio with Riding the Wave with Mark Healey on BlogTalkRadio