2008-08-22 / School News

Local Residents Named To National Honor Roll

The National Honor Roll recognized high-achieving high school and middle school students and offers several benefits that can contribute to the success of its student members. For students recognized for the 2007/2008 school year, National Honor Roll set aside $25,000 to be shared among 25 of its qualifying inductees.

Local inductees include Far Rockaway residents Ruthwayne Benjamin Jr., a William E. Grady High School freshman; Aimathan Hall, a sophomore at the Business, Computer Applications and Entrepreneurship High School; Atatholee Johnson, a Thomas A. Edison High School junior; Fatih Mayan, a senior at Frederick Douglass Academy VI; Clara Thomas, a High School for Law Enforcement and Public Safety junior; and James Velasquez, a junior at George Westinghouse High School; Arverne resident Leticia Thompson, a senior at the Business, Computer Applications and Entrepreneurship High School; Rockaway Beach residents Melissa Julien, a Stella Maris senior; and Bodisha Ramcharran, a senior at Beach Channel High School; and Rockaway Park resident Alix Slosberg, a junior at Leon M. Goldstein High School for the Sciences.

The National Honor Roll contacts potentially qualifying students after reviewing information about their academic performance. Each student is asked to submit information about his or her GPA, interests, activities, and future goals. Only students with a B or better average are eligible to be inducted into the National Honor Roll.

Return to top

Email Us
Contact Us

Copyright 1999 - 2016 Wave Publishing Co. All Rights Reserved

Neighborhoods | History



Check Out News Podcasts at Blog Talk Radio with Riding the Wave with Mark Healey on BlogTalkRadio