2008-06-27 / School News

FDA VI PTA's Annual Appreciation Banquet

Sheniqua Brown was the recipient of the Outstanding Honor Roll and Leadership Awards.
The Frederick Douglass Academy VI PTA held its second annual Appreciation Banquet on Saturday, June 7 at JFK Holiday Inn. More than 200 people attended the event where young women wore flowing gowns and young men dressed in jackets and ties.

The PTA awarded more than 100 trophies to scholars on the Honor Roll. Students were also honored for Leadership, 100 percent Attendance and Most Improved.

The PTA congratulates the 1st graduating Class of FDA VI for their acceptances to: Columbia University, Wesleyan University, St. John's University, Long Island University, Post University, Pace University, St. Francis College, Briarcliffe College, University of Penn, Adelphi University and so many more!!!

In addition, awards were presented to FDA VI Principal Linda Alfred, the FDA staff and parents for their dedication and hard work.

The PTA showed appreciation to Senator Malcolm Smith, represented by Warren Gardiner and Philip Halliburton; Assemblywoman Michele Titus; Councilman James Sanders Jr., represented by Donovan Richards; Rockaway Development and Revitalization Corp, represented by Michael Duncan, Kevin Alexander and Rachel Forde; Kevin Pruitt, real estate investor; and Gregory Carter, coach and owner of Rockaway Sports Association.

PTA President Serena Peterson presented FDA VI Principal Linda Alfred with an award for her commitment and dedication.
Jeremiah C. Gaffney presented All- American Award winner Steve Burnett with a $1,000 scholarship. In addition, two Michael Richardson Scholarship Awards were presented on behalf of Ralph Richardson, in the amount of $1,000, to Salutatorian Katalina DaVila and Valedictorian Steven Monges.

The event was made possible by Principal Linda Alfred, the scholars, parents, guests and local philanthropists and members of the PTA.

Shown are award winners FDA VI track Coach Eric Stein and FDA VI lacrosse coach Gregory Carter.
Donovan Richards was presented with an Appreciation Award. Pictured are Richards and Peterson.
Nickeza Humprey received the Honor Roll Award.
Gino Henry received the Honor Roll and Leadership Awards; PTA President Serena Peterson shown in the background.
Pictured are Warren Gardiner and Philip Halliburton, representing Senator Malcolm Smith's office, with Peterson. Both representatives and the Senator received Appreciation Awards.
Pictured are Assemblywoman Michele Titus and Peterson
Jasmyne Johnson received Honor Roll and Leadership Awards.
Peterson presented Rachel Ford and Kevin Alexander with Appreciation Awards.
Pictured are Jeremiah C. Gaffney and Steve Burnett.
FDA VI PTA Action Team: Serena Peterson, PTA president; Samantha Parker, incoming vice president; Alice Dorsey, active vice president and incoming co-president; Gavin Humprey, incoming co-president (seated); Daryn Copper-Cobbs, secretary; and Yolanda James-Battle, fundraising chairperson.

Return to top

Email Us
Contact Us

Copyright 1999 - 2016 Wave Publishing Co. All Rights Reserved

Neighborhoods | History



Check Out News Podcasts at Blog Talk Radio with Riding the Wave with Mark Healey on BlogTalkRadio