2008-04-18 / Sports

St.Camillus Special Olympians Win Parade Award

By Joe Featherston

The festivities of the Queens County Rockaway Beach St. Patrick's Day Parade were thoroughly enjoyed by the athletes, parents, friends and coaches of the St. Camillus Special Olympics/Rockaway Beach Special Athletics Team.

The group got a jump start with a delightful Irish breakfast at the home of Susan and Denis Brady. They then unfurled their creative, new parade banner that was donated by the family of one of our athletes, Kevin Manning of Breezy Point.

The athletes then marched behind the leadership of Jim McVeigh, who was being saluted as Honorary Grand Marshall for the parade. Jim was honored for his eleven years of volunteer service as a coach for the Special Olympics and for his years of service as a volunteer ski instructor in the Adaptive Sports Foundation at Windham Mountain. Jim has been a warm friend and mentor to all our athletesm and thoroughly deserved his honor. The Olympians then got a great thrill as they took turns leading our unit while marching with Jim in front of the new banner.

As always, they reveled in the thunderous applause of the crowd along the route. They truly appreciate the warm feelings the crowd gives them.

Later in the day, they received another thrill when they received notice that St. Camillus Special Olympics had won the James Conway Sullivan Award as the Most Spirited Marching Group.

This award is donated annually by the long-time parade committee member Tom Touhey, in honor of his close friend and parade founder "Sully." What an honor for our group! Your Irish eyes were smiling in heaven, Sully.

The proud athletes who marched included: Jeffrey Resnick, Nicole Figueroa, Heather Huber, Brian Moriarty, Emily Hutton, Tommy Ryan, Kurt Wagner, Evan Russell, Paul Fitzpatrick, Kevin Manning, Patrick Tritschler, Denise Kiernan, Amanda Seward, Ciara McDonough, Elizabeth McLaughlin, Elizabeth Sena, Craig Brenner, Danny Dory, Paul DeVincenzo, Tyrei Duncan, Anthony Davis, Timothy Mullally and Joseph Orban.

They were joined by our wee leprechauns: Siobhan Kalfer; Annie, Molly and Kathleen Burns; Theresa Kiernan; Dillon, Kayla and Aileen Henning; Devin Parchment, Joseph Featherston; Jack, Ronan and Caitrina Mullally; Frank and Owen McVeigh; and Tommy McDonough.

Thanks to Mike Benn and all the parade committee for a wonderful event.

Return to top

Email Us
Contact Us

Copyright 1999 - 2016 Wave Publishing Co. All Rights Reserved

Neighborhoods | History



Check Out News Podcasts at Blog Talk Radio with Riding the Wave with Mark Healey on BlogTalkRadio