2008-03-28 / Sports

Teams Claim Championship Wins At Peggy Boyle Tournament

The 10th Annual Peggy Boyle Girls Basketball Tournament concluded with a rousing championship day.

Play began with the Subnovice division as St. Thomas More beat Good Shepherd. Keely McEachern led the way with 4 points and was named All- Tournament, along with Lauren Duggan. Caleigh Casey was named MVP and Mary Conroy received the Sportsmanship award. Danielle Willoughby was named Outstanding Player for Good Shepherd.

The Pee Wees followed, and with Therese Gallagher leading the way, St. Francis pulled away from Our Lady of Grace to win the championship. Gallagher was named MVP. Shanon Rochelle and Lauren Guidarelli were named All-Tournament.

In the Novice game, St. Thomas More rallied with 11 fourth quarter points to surprise Our Lady of Hope, 19-18. Elise Sammon received MVP honors, Brittany Sheriff and Jen Farley All-Tournament and Megan Kirk was the Sportsmanship recipient. Our Lady of Hope's Kristen Mahon was named their outstanding player.

Our Lady of Hope prevailed in the Bantam game as they beat St. Francis. Daisy Trusttum was Outstanding Player for St. Francis. Meghan King and Casey McDade were All-Tournament, and Anastasia O'Byrne received the Sportsmanship award.

St. Thomas More took its third title of the day in beating St. Margaret, 40- 35, for the Rookie Championship. Siobhan Sammon was MVP, Jesse Jamin and Cindy Henderson All- Tournament, and Erin Malloy was named the Sportsmanship award winner. Kristen Podlovits was Outstanding Player for St. Margaret.

The Intermediate Championship was a repeat affair. In their first meeting, St. Stans went to two overtimes before defeating Long Beach Catholic.

The islanders got their revenge over St. Stans with a stunning 32-15 win for the championship. Sam Cody was MVP for LBC. Nina Corcoran and Brooke Gerstman were named All- Tournament and Aileen Carey received the Sportsmanship Award. Rayne Connell was Outstanding Player for St. Stans.

There was a Special Awards ceremony as well, recognizing outstanding sportsmanship throughout the year on each St. Francis team. The awards were named in honor of outstanding coaches and players from St. Francis' long and distinguished history. Courtney McCool received the Clare Kennedy award. Allison Tipaldo is the recipient of the Grace Kelly Leahy award. Brianna Suhr was named for the Marianne 'Noodles' Noonan Memorial award.

Mary Ellen Woods was selected for the Betty Goldberg award. Kristin Henschel received the Kathleen Mann award, and Maegen Reed was named for the Joan Marquardt award.

The Boyle and Gaffney families came from around the country to gather to honor Peggy's memory and presented awards of thanks to initial tournament chairperson Carol Kelleher, as well as the Graybeards and Keith Goldberg for their longtime support of the tournament.

A reception was held following the tournament with entertainment provided by the Gray Riders. Stories flowed as easily as the refreshments, and a great time was had by all. It was a fitting tribute to a wonderful person who is missed by everyone.

Thanks to all who organized and volunteered, especially tournament chairpersons Elaine Scotto, Ronald Whelan and John Blum. Special thanks also to our announcer Randy Neiswenter, and the head of our scorer's table crew, the great Jack Bender. More thanks go to the Kitchen Crew, the Graybeards, St. Francis Cheerleaders, Jim McKeon, Fr. Lou, Msgr. Brown, Jay Boyle for the wonderful shirts, Creative for the trophies, and to the Neiswenters for the amazing decorations on championship day.

Finally, a heartfelt thank you goes to Brian and Caitlin Boyle, and the Boyle family. We hope to see you all next year.

Return to top

Email Us
Contact Us

Copyright 1999 - 2016 Wave Publishing Co. All Rights Reserved

Neighborhoods | History



Check Out News Podcasts at Blog Talk Radio with Riding the Wave with Mark Healey on BlogTalkRadio