2007-09-21 / Sports

Breezy Point Par Tee Golf Celebrates 25 Years

By Peg Ansbro

Words of wisdom about golf according to Sam Snead: If a lot of people gripped a knife and fork the way they do a golf club, they'd starve to death. The Par Tee Golf ladies celebrated our 25th anniversary with a luncheon at "Russo's on the Bay" on September 13, and no one came near starving to death.

The food was delicious, the service wonderful, and the ambiance beautiful!! And the entertainment was fabulous!!!!

The quintet of Anita McLoughlin, Mary McDermott, Betty Weed, Helen Mahon, and Maureen McGuire sang and danced and the standing ovation they received was well-deserved. What a sensational group!!

The beautiful centerpieces and decorations on display are credited to Anita McLoughlin. It was just a perfect day thanks to the efforts of our chair ladies: Alice Mateos and Bea Sharrock. Congratulations on a superior job!!!

Now to the awards: Regarding the recently completed Emily Basher Memorial Tournament, the low gross winner was Eileen Watson (58) and the low net winner was Joan McNally (47).

FLIGHT A (0-19): Low gross winner was Joanna Beck (59) and the low net winner was Carol Smyth (49). The low net scores: Pat Kelly (50), Mildred Seligman, Peg Ansbro and Meg Feerick (53), Nancy Heffernan and Doris Neimeth (54), Barbara Caramelli (56), Lillian Hanratty and Bunny GaNun (60), Pat Livingstone and Alice Mateos and Marge O"Leary (62, Bea Sharrock (65) and Eileen Witzgall (67).

FLIGHT B (20-24): Low gross winner was Kay Miller (71) and Low net winner was Kate Hanratty (51). The other low net scores were: Helen Mele (52), Jo Sullivan (53), Ann Lane and Marilyn Danese (54), Dotty Dunne (55), Sheila Schaberick and Bernice Carroll (56), Betty Monahan and Pat Jordan (59), Nancy Garito and Joan Williams (61), Terry GaNun (62), Liz Cameron (63) and Nancy Tutolo (67).

FLIGHT C (25): Low gross winner was Ann Tobin (76) and low net winner was Eileen Hurson (52). And the other low net scores were: Marie Heffernan (59), Mildred Duffy and Barbara Denver (61), Mary Castellano and Noreen Schramm (63), Maureen McGuire and Mary Powers (64), and Marie LoPresti (65).

NINE HOLERS: Low gross winner was Pat Powers (44) and Low net winner was Vera Lynch (32-4). Nancy Murchison scored (34.5) and Peggy Wheeler scored (35.5).

A word of appreciation must go to Eileen Watson for her expertise, patience and effort in running this tournament. It was perfectly planned and organized. Congratulation goes to all the winners. As EIleen said, "everyone was a winner".

The Season Awards: Hole-in-one- - Joan McNally; Low season game- Peg Ansbro (60) and Doris Neimeth (60); Low season handicap: (8)- Eileen Watson Meg Feerick, Doris Neimeth and Peg Ansbro.

Most birdies- Peg Ansbro (11), Most chip-ins- Pat Kelly (5), Most Improved (25%) and Best Attendance (14) was won by Helen Mele.

Thanks go to our two presidents; Maureen McGuire and Pat Jordan, for their tireless work, leadership, effort, and dedication are very much appreciated. We wish good luck to our incoming co-presidents; Alice Mateos and Sheila Schaberick.

And until next season, may thy ball lie in green pastures- not in still waters. God Bless. Have a safe, healthy and happy year.

Return to top

Email Us
Contact Us

Copyright 1999 - 2016 Wave Publishing Co. All Rights Reserved

Neighborhoods | History



Check Out News Podcasts at Blog Talk Radio with Riding the Wave with Mark Healey on BlogTalkRadio