2007-04-13 / Sports

SFDS Teams Storm Past Opponents To Hoist CYO Trophies

The 2006-07 CYO Basketball season recently concluded with St. Francis capturing two Diocesan Championships. The Boys Pee Wee B's followed wins over St. Pancras and St. Adalbert with a 29-12 win over Our Lady of Lourdes in the championship game.

Against St. Adalbert, John Whelan was given the assignment in St. Francis' box and one defense against their leading scorer. Whelan held him to three points.

This allowed the St. Francis offense to take a 14-9 lead. When play resumed, Anthony Scotto and Bard Featherston fueled a 14-0 St. Francis run that put the game out of reach.

Jordan Asbury, Mike Tammaro and Brendan Lazo added to the offensive explosion while Luke Gersh and Joe Brown forced numerous turnovers with their defense. The offensive fireworks continued in the final against Our Lady of Lourdes. Bard Featherston hit his first three shots and along with the contributions from John Whelan and Anthony Scotto, staked SFDS to an 11-0 lead.

The defense was just as significant with Luke Gersh and Joe Brown pressuring the point guard and holding him scoreless for three quarters. Tommy Baldrian, Brendan Gallagher, and Ryan Hoffman controlled the boards and initiated the fast break offense. Matt Savastano and Augie Ameruso played outstanding defense as well. Mike Urban and Mike Barna overcame their illness and injury to contribute their spirit and support for their teammates. Coaches Bob Baldrian and Ron Whelan congratulated all on their hard work and successful season.

The SFDS Novice Boys, coached by Marty and Keith Andresen won the novice CYO championship. The team coasted through the playoffs until they encountered division rival OLPH. They used their big men to pound the boards while St. Francis countered with their quickness and skill. The game was close throughout.

All 14 players contributed for SFDS but Eamonn Gavigan was unstoppable in the fourth quarter going for double digits as St. Francis pulled out a 32-30 victory. The Queens championship was a rematch with St. Pancras who had already beaten St. Francis twice recently including in the championship of the SMGH Tournament. This time St. Francis focused on stopping their point guard and the strategy worked as SFDS gained a 10 point lead in the first quarter lead and went on to gain the victory.

The task of winning the championship was completed the following week with a win over St. Mark's of Brooklyn. The SFDS team consisted of Michael Buckley, Patrick Cashin, Thomas Clark, Chris Cole, Billy Collins, Logan Conroy, Dennis Barnes, Dylan Evans, Eamonn Gavigan, Alex Moule, Paul Rayder, Nial Reen, Ryan Schonfeld, and Nick Tsatsis.

For coaches Marty and Keith Andresen, it was their second straight Novice championship while many of the boys also won their second in a row after last year's Pee Wee championship.

In other action, the boys' subnovice 'A' team captured the St. Thomas Apostle Tournament championship led by Alex Goldberg, John Boyle, Eoin Reen, Mark Butigan, Ryan Olsen, and Ethan Ruiz.

The Pee Wee A's defended their championship in the SMGH Tournament with a 21-13 win over St. Thomas More in the championship. The offense was balanced in the win as it was all year. Ten players contributed to the scoring but the defense was the key in holding STM in check.

The Bantams finished on a strong note after an opening the playoffs with a defeat. They reeled off 6 straight wins including the championship over St. Pancras. Stellar performances were turned in by Charlie Marquardt and Jack Hurley in all games, with Patrick Goldberg providing highlight reel plays. Ryan Kilgallen and Connor Rayder were dominant on the boards.

In the Peggy Boyle Tournament, Our Lady of Grace won the subnovice division. For SFDS 'A', Kathryn Gibson and Lauren Peters received all-tournament honors, while Emily Carlton was awarded for Sportsmanship.

Jenna McCann and Therese Gallagher were named to the all-tournament team and Lauren Guidarelli received the Sportsmanship Award for SFDS 'B'.

St. Thomas More won the Pee Wee division in an 18-17 thriller over St. Margaret. For SFDS 'B', Emma Knox and Kayla Kilgallen were named All-Tournament players and Renee Simos received the sportsmanship award.

St. Francis took the Novice division with a 16-7 win over Good Shepherd. Meghan Atwood was Tournament MVP. Casey McDade received the sportsmanship award and all-tournament honors went to Therese Boyle and Meaghan King.

The Bantams made it two in a row for St. Francis with a win over St. Thomas More 34-27. Taylor Butigan was MVP, Marissa Scotto and Lynn Rayder All-Tournament and Erin Blum won the sportsmanship award.

The SFDS Rookies were victorious in outlasting Our Lady of Hope. Deirdre Ray garnered MVP honors. Maegen Reed and Casey Collins were all-tournament while Paige Whelan was the sportsmanship recipient.

In the Intermediate championship, Epiphany completed the Peggy Boyle Tournament by beating OLMC.

For St. Francis, Annette Scotto and Rebecca Moers were All-Tournament and Vanessa Ramos was the sportsmanship honoree.

The expansion of the tournament proved a great success and many thanks are due to Tournament Chairpersons Elaine Scotto, Ronald Whelan, and Jay Boyle, and all our volunteers, especially the Kitchen Committee, the Scorers Committee led by Jack Bender along with Dan Edwards and the Graybeards.

Return to top

Email Us
Contact Us

Copyright 1999 - 2016 Wave Publishing Co. All Rights Reserved

Neighborhoods | History



Check Out News Podcasts at Blog Talk Radio with Riding the Wave with Mark Healey on BlogTalkRadio