2007-01-05 / Sports

SFDS Gym Packed For Xmas Classic

The 22nd annual St. Francis Christmas Tournament concluded with a flourish on Saturday December 30, as record crowds flocked to the SFDS Gym.

The day began with the Subnovice championship. Corpus Christi had defeated St. Francis Blue to earn a rematch with St. Francis Gold. Alex Goldberg scored 4 quick points to stake St. Francis to the lead. Adonis Fishburne of Corpus countered and at the halftime buzzer hit a three pointer that would prove to be the difference.

St. Francis battled and had many opportunities. With six seconds remaining, Goldberg stole the inbounds pass and launched a final shot that looked to be in before rolling out as Corpus Christi held on for the championship. Adonis Fishburne was named MVP while Alex Goldberg received the Outstanding Player award for St. Francis. John Boyle and Mark Butigian were named All-Tournament and Eoin received the Sportsmanship award.

The Pee Wee championship was an all-St. Francis affair. The teams battled back and forth but a second quarter surge by the Blue was the key as SFDS Blue beat SFDS Gold 30-26. John Whelan scored 10 points and was named Tournament MVP. Bard Featherston scored 14 in the final and garnered All-Tournament honors along with Jordan Asbury. Anthony Scotto received the Sportsmanship award.

For the Gold, Charles Gavigan was Outstanding Player after scoring 14 in the championship. Chris Ray and Jimmy Howard were All-Tournament.

The Novice championship was a rematch of last year's Diocesan Championship between St. Francis and St. Stan. After a slow start, St. Francis overtook St. Stan and never looked back. Michael Buckley poured in 22 on the way to MVP honors as St. Francis won 41-32. Dylan Evans added 8 and was named All-Tournament as was Patrick Cashin.

The Bantam final was also a Diocesan rematch, and the feature game of the day as St. Helen visited and a packed house cheered on both teams. A strong start put SFDS up 19-12 at the half. The lead was still seven after three quarters but foul trouble was becoming a problem. St. Francis went cold both from the floor and the free throw line. St. Helen caught up and only a few late free throws by St. Francis forced overtime. The defense by both teams was intense as the gym rocked. St. Francis continued its shooting woes and the visitors pulled out the win 39-36.

For St. Francis, Jack Hurley was named Outstanding Player. Charlie Marquardt and Jimmy Wolfer were selected All-Tournament.

The St. Francis Rookies beat St. Thomas More to gain a rematch with St. Joseph-St. Thomas of Staten Island. They knew they were in for a tough time. SJST took a 12 point lead into the final quarter but St. Francis never gave up. A spirited rally cut the lead to six, but they could never get over the hump and fell 57-45 against an excellent team. Ryan Meade received Outstanding Player honors, while Chris Tsatsis and Patrick Kilgallen were All-Tournament.

The St. Francis Intermediates were eliminated on Friday night against Our Lady of Grace from Brooklyn. St. Francis battled hard despite a physical mismatch, trailing only by one point at the half. However, OLG took control in the 3rd quarter and St. Francis ran out of gas, falling 52-40.

In the final championship game on Saturday, OLG came from behind to beat Good Shepherd for the crown. It was a great finish to a great day and a great two weeks.

In between the Novice and Bantam games on Saturday, the special Sportsmanship Plaques were also given out.

The Subnovice honors went to: Rev. Louis DeGaetano Award-James Corrigan, Danny Onorato Award- Ryan Moran, Sister Patricia Award- Ryan Olsen and Michael Andrews Award- Matt Erhard.

The Pee Wee honors went to: Peter McManus Award- Matt Savastano, Richie Bogart Award- Connor Ryan, John Cunneen Award-Luke Gersh and Jim McKeon Award-Tommy Morgan.

The Novice honors went to: Chris Lawler Award- Nial Reen, Jack Collins Award-Eamonn Gavigan, Marty Andresen Award- Nick Tsatsis and Kathy Lawler Award- Alex Moule.

The Bantam honors went to:

Msgr. Geraghty Award-Connor Rayder, Charlie Heeran Award- Jimmy Wolfer, Sister Margaret Award- Kevin Magee and Walter Blum Award- Patrick Goldberg

The Rookie honors went to: Dorothy Brennan Award- Tommy Mercer, Sean O'Hagan Award- Ian Clayman, Richie Allen Award- Nick McElhatton Award, Walter Hynes Award- Liam Reen and Chet McNulty Award- Liam Ryan.

The Intermediate honors went to: Msgr. Brown Award-William McGuire Award, Joe DeMarco Award-James Mercer, Joe Kenel- Sr. Award, John Evans Award-Keith Goldberg Award- James Goldberg, Teddy Marshall Award- Joe Wolfer and Tim Stackpole Award Mark Holstrom

Tournament Directors Marty and Keith Andresen would like to thank everyone who contributed to making this year's tournament such a great success, particularly: The Graybeards, our Kitchen Crew, our Team Reps and parent volunteers, John Duggan, Jack Bender, and Jim Morley, and Msgr. Brown, Father Lou, and Sister Patricia. CYO play resumes this weekend, and in another tradition, the South Windsor, Connecticut team will visit for games at the SFDS gym on Saturday beginning with the Rookies at 2:00. The Intermediates follow at 3:30, Bantams at 5:00 and Novices at 6:30. See you at the SFDS gym.

Happy New Year.

Return to top

Email Us
Contact Us

Copyright 1999 - 2016 Wave Publishing Co. All Rights Reserved

Neighborhoods | History



Check Out News Podcasts at Blog Talk Radio with Riding the Wave with Mark Healey on BlogTalkRadio