2005-05-27 / Columnists

Chatting with Chapey

by Dr. Geraldine M. Chapey, Democratic District Leader

Dr. Geraldine Chapey
Dr. Geraldine Chapey

Trinity Luncheon A Success

More than 700 people attended the Trinity Services third annual luncheon at Russo’s on the Bay on Friday, May 20, 2005. The function was an overwhelming success. Everyone enjoyed it. Thanks goes to our outstanding luncheon committee for their hard work and dedication. The success of the luncheon is due to team work. Thanks also go to our outstanding and dedicated honorary chairs- Matilda Cuomo and Dr. Kathleen Cashin and to our capable and caring co-chairs – Frances Abbracciamento and Joseph Mure.

Monsignor Martin Geraghty received the Life Time Achievement Award. Monsignor has been the pastor at St. Francis de Sales since 1988. Monsignor has a deep interest in Jewish Christian relations. He served as the Chairman of the Diocesan Catholic Jewish Relations Committee for the Diocese of Brooklyn and Queens for twelve years.

Rabbi Marjorie Slome received the Community Recognition Award. Rabbi Slome brings a wealth of experience to the West End Temple. She directed programs for the Jewish Board of Family and Children’s Services in New York City. Rabbi Slome believes in empowerment having been the co-chairperson of the Women’s Rabbinic Network and a past president of the Brooklyn Association of Reformed Rabbi’s.

Richard Roberts received the 2005 Leadership Award. Richard, the Business Agent for Local 638 of the Steam Fitter’s Union, is a dynamic, outgoing, positive and focused person. Richard is a rising star in the union having been elected to the Executive Board of the Steamfitters, as a Delegate to the United Association National Convention and as a Vice President of the Manhattan Board of Business Agents.

Harolyn Fritz received the Educator of the Year Award. Harolyn is a service oriented professional having devoted her entire working life to the children, parents and teachers in the New York City schools. Her sincere devotion to improving our educational system prompted her to become an officer in the union. Harolyn has been elected to several union positions including the Board of Directors of the Statewide New York State United Teachers.

Commissioner Gino Menchini received the Esteemed Man of the Year Award. Commissioner Menchini was appointed on December 28, 2001 as the Commissioner of the Department of Information Technology and Telecommunications of the City of New York. Commissioner Menchini began his civic career at the Board of Education as a Special Assistant to the Chancellor and then moved into the academic arena to become the Vice President for Information Technology at St. Francis College in Brooklyn in the 1990’s.

Steven Greenberg received the Distinguished Service Award. Steve has served as a Vice President for Smith Barney Group for the past 19 years. In January, he and a group of his colleagues formed the Harbor Group at Smith Barney. Steve has a strong record of community involvement. He is currently the Chairman of the Breezy Point Cooperative, a Trustee of Peninsula Hospital and a member of the Board of Directors of the Rockaway Chamber of Commerce. From 1991 to 2004 Steve served as a board member of CSB 27 having also been elected as president. He and his lovely wife Lucia have three wonderful daughters.

Joseph Perrota received the Business Man of the Year Award. Joe Perrota is a gifted, creative and talented florist. His ability to beautify, enhance and decorate through flowers is legendary. Joe Perrotta is one man who has really made a difference. He has a passion for his family, a passion for the flower business and a passion for helping people who need assistance.

Selma Kaplan received the Humanitarian Award. Selma notes with love that her best friend and mentor was her mother, Fannie. Selma has an outstanding record of service to Temple Beth El where she has been the President for the past twenty-two years. Her community service includes serving as the Past President for two terms of the Sisterhood at Temple Beth El and being the secretary of the Board of Peninsula Hospital Center.

Maria Thomson received the Business Woman of the Year Award. Maria Thomson has been a catalyst behind many of the major accomplishments of the Woodhaven Resident’s Block Association (WRBA). The Greater Woodhaven Development Corporation evol-ved from the WRBA and works for stores and businesses throughout Woodhaven. Maria Thomson is the dynamic Executive Director.

Joan Lohnes received the Champion of Human Rights Award. Joan is a registered nurse who has dedicated herself to helping others for more than four decades. Joan has been the Director of Health Services at Outreach Project. Currently as the Director of H.O.P.E. Services (Helping Our People Excel) Mrs. Lohnes works with individuals and families who are HIV positive and have drug and alcohol histories.

Nora Gallagher received the Woman of the Year Award. Nora maintains a very active presence in St. Frances de Sales Parish. Nora is a member of the liturgical committee in the parish and is also a Eucharistic minister. Nora and her wonderful husband Mike (deceased) raised eight beautiful children on the sandy shores in Belle Harbor. Nora served very effectively as the Past President of the Sea Breeze Golden Age.

Eugene Greco received the Exemplary Service Award. Eugene has served as the President and a Council Member of the Saint Vincent de Paul Society in St. Helen’s Church. Eugene has an impressive record of community service.

He is a member of the Howard Beach Kiwanis Club, the Key Club, the Election Board, the Chamber of Commerce, the American Legion and the Interfaith Council of Southwest Queens.

It is our pleasure to salute the contributions of these fine and talented individuals.



Return to top

Email Us
Contact Us

Copyright 1999 - 2016 Wave Publishing Co. All Rights Reserved

Neighborhoods | History



Check Out News Podcasts at Blog Talk Radio with Riding the Wave with Mark Healey on BlogTalkRadio