2003-05-16 / Community

St. Edmund’s Holds Scholarship Dinner

St. Edmund’s Holds Scholarship Dinner

Class of 2003, 2004, 2005, and 2006Class of 2003, 2004, 2005, and 2006

St. Edmund Prep High School, Sheepshead Bay, recently held a scholarship recipient dinner. The event was held in the school. Certificates were distributed and awards included full, half and quarter year scholarships.

Although St. Edmund Prep High School rewards students for their academic achievements, the students do not subsidize the money awarded. Tuition has remained low even though students are receiving a high quality education. In addition, faculty members donate a portion of their salary to help students who achieve academically but are in need financially.

Competition for scholarships is fiercer than ever at St. Edmund Prep High School. Scholarship recipients and money has doubled since last year and quadrupled from three years ago.

According to Wright, "Every year it has become more difficult to choose among applicants because the quality of students has improved. This year we have also added the first annual art scholarship." Incoming freshman, Thomas Salvanti, who resides in Park Slope, is the first recipient of the art scholarship.

Class of 2007Class of 2007

The members of the scholarship committee are Chris Wright, Director of Development, who also coordinated the event; Ray Malafronte, Academic Dean/English Coordinator/Art Teacher; Lucy Mineo, Foreign Language Teacher; Phil Fama, Art Teacher; and Kathy DeMello, school nurse.

Class of 2003: Michael Bratichak, Danielle Caputo, Andrew Cardaci, Steven Donahue, Andrew Julia, Michael Matteo, Amanda Pizzuti, John Plant, and Jaclyn Wilkens.

Class of 2004: Alissa Collins, Christine DeMauro, John Dugan, Stephanie LaPorta, Sean McHugh, Michale Nowicki, and Chris Wilker.

Class of 2005: Jessica Acevedo, Alexander Arasin, Catriona Bergin, Angela Burgos, Dina Castner, Jessica Davilmar, Stephanie Giangrande, Matthew McMahon, Elizabeth Murphy, Vincent Romano, Nicholas Scotto, Andrew Sienko, and Regina Susi.

Class of 2006: Megan Baumgarten, Brittany Date, Allison Crawbuck, Krystal Edwards, John Giangreco, Caitlyn Gregg, Lindsay Nicastro, and Scott O’Donnell.

Class of 2007: Nikki Cerchione, Anthony Ferro, Natalie Gratkowski, Anthony Mottola, Steven Nowicki, Stefania Pennetti, Vito Pinto, Christina Pisano, Fina-Ann Politano, Thomas Salvanti, Tina Su, and Deanna Vadala.

Return to top

Email Us
Contact Us

Copyright 1999 - 2016 Wave Publishing Co. All Rights Reserved

Neighborhoods | History



Check Out News Podcasts at Blog Talk Radio with Riding the Wave with Mark Healey on BlogTalkRadio