Passover Kashruth Alert For Pet Owners
The Rabbinical Board of Greater New York has issued the following Kashruth alert for pet owners:
Many brands of commercial pet foods, although they are classified as "grain free," "pure," or "natural," may still contain morning cereal fines that are real chametz!
Chametz is considered and leavened grain products of the five species of grain wheat, barley, oats, spelt, or rye, or any byproduct of any of these species, which has become moist.
Any derivative of the above grains that were prepared without special caution to be Kosher for Passover is considered as Non-kosher for Passover use.
In accordance with Halacha it is strictly forbidden to feed your pet any Chametz during the eight days of Passover. This prohibition includes even if the pet is served by a non-Jew outside of your home, or are temporarily housed at boarding facilities.
The Rabbinical Board has set up a phone number, and e-mail address, to deal with all of your pet concerns for this upcoming Passover holiday.
You can email all your questions to HalachaHotline@att.net, or call toll-free 1-888-782-3645.