2002-11-02 / Sports

STM Is Tops In Diocesan Championships

STM Is Tops In Diocesan Championships

A beautiful fall day capped off a great season for the St Thomas More Cross Country team at the CYO Diocesan Championships held at Alley Spring Park on Sunday October 27th. St Thomas won the Novice boy’s Division and captured team trophies in four of the seven divisions it competed in.

The senior boy’s opened our racing day finishing third behind Our Lady of Lourdes. Dylan Dombrowski finished 4th in 6:30 over the 1.25 mile course. Shawn Egan (6:51 6th) and Burke Doran (7:09 9th) completed this small senior team. Individual medals were given to the top fifteen finishers in each race.

Brittany Dombrowski (6:23 15th) improved 31 seconds to lead our junior girls’ team over the .8-mile course. Ashley McLoughlin (6:32), Linda Maloney (7:55) and Heidi Zwick (7:56) also competed for St Thomas More.

The rabbit leading the junior boys made a wrong turn and led the boys over the shorter bantam course. Daniel Lee (4:09 4th) led our juniors followed by Robert Klein (4:21 14th), Thomas McNoble (4:34 21st), Connor Hubbard (4:41 ), Stephen Henderson (4:56 ) and Joseph Drennan (5:03). The junior boy’s won the 4th place trophy.

Cindy Henderson again led our novice girl’s to a second place team finish over the ½ mile course with a 4th place finish in 3:46. Justina Morgan (5th) moved onto the all time STM list with her 3:59 clocking. Brianne Kelly (4:22 15th), Julie Maloney (4:26), Briana McLoughlin (4:29), and Kristin Corral (5:09), all won team bronze medals for STM.

Nearly 80 boys come to line in the boys novice race. Most times it is impossible to score the race by eye but with STM finishing 1st, 2nd and 4th there was little doubt in this championship. Jack Kane capped off him perfect season running a person best of 3:30. Patrick Egan (3:34 2nd) and Sean McNoble (3:39 4th) closely followed. Other gold medal winning champion team members was: Justin Zwick (4:37), Edward McCarthy (4:55) and James Morgan (5:16).

Nine bantam girls stepped to line for STM. Kara Egan (4:30 3rd), Emma Devlin (4:31 4th) and Katie Henderson (4:48 10th) led our girls to a second place finish. Close behind were: Louise Duffy (4:52 12th), Sarah McCarthy (4:53 13th), Lauren Katen (5:20), Erin Tacopina (5:23), Christa Hedderson (5:34) and Rebecca McCarthy (5:53).

The final race of the day and season brought four boy bantam runners to the start. Mark Caputo (4:42 18th) led our boys. Liam Anderson (5:24), Patrick Cusack (5:31) and Steven Taikina (6:04) brought the 2002 Fall Cross Country season to conclusion. Twenty-six boys and twenty-two girls graced the racing flats of Alley Spring Park for St Thomas More capturing one diocesan and three sectional titles. Seven individual races and 71 individual medals, 56 team medals were won by the STM harriers. The coaching staff extends great thanks to all our volunteer timers, scorers, label and tag distributors, picture takers and to all our parents for your support.

Return to top

Email Us
Contact Us

Copyright 1999 - 2016 Wave Publishing Co. All Rights Reserved

Neighborhoods | History



Check Out News Podcasts at Blog Talk Radio with Riding the Wave with Mark Healey on BlogTalkRadio