2001-10-27 / Sports

Cross Country Opens for Business

By Joe Dombrowski

By Joe Dombrowski

The 2001 CYO Cross Country season opened on a day of pouring rain with a development meet at Alley Spring Park. Thirty-eight St Thomas More athletes ran distances from a half-mile to just over a mile this first meet winning 22 medals. Twenty-five medals were given in each race. Emma Devlin won her fifth consecutive CYO race leading a 1-2-3 STM finish in the bantam race with a time of 4:44. Kara Egan (4:54), Sarah McCarthy (4:59), Molly Tacopina (5:09 9th), Dana Distabile (5:26 18th) and Louise Duffy (5:34 23rd) led the STM medal winning finishers.

Daniel Lee was just nipped at the finish of the boy’s bantam race in 4 minutes and 20 seconds. Shawn Egan (4:36 8th), Stephen Henderson (4:57 15th) Liam Anderson (4:59 16th) and Connor Hubbard (5:04 19th) completed this team.

Dylan Dombrowski set a new STM junior record of 5:24 finishing in third place. Burke Doran (5:37 5th) and Dylan Anderson (5:59 18th) also won junior medals for STM.

Allen MacSaveny ran 7:16 finishing 8th and Kenny Jackson (8:25 14th) in the senior division.

Our novice boys and girls each won three medals over the half-mile course. Mark Caputo (3:55 5th), Patrick Egan (3:57 7th), Cody Greenstein (4:10 19th), Katie Henderson (3:54 3rd), Erin Tacopina (4:18 12th) and Cindy Henderson (4:26 15th) completed our medal winning performances.

Return to top

Email Us
Contact Us

Copyright 1999 - 2016 Wave Publishing Co. All Rights Reserved

Neighborhoods | History



Check Out News Podcasts at Blog Talk Radio with Riding the Wave with Mark Healey on BlogTalkRadio