2000-11-25 / Sports

Larry Welsh Run A Success

By Joe Featherston

The extended community of Broad Channel once again provided a fitting tribute to one of its fallen heroes, Firefighter Larry Welsh, with a series of road races and a post-race banquet in the American Legion Hall.

Larry’s brother, Jack, Jack’s wife Maureen, and her two sisters, Tricia and Joanne Hanglow, did much of the behind the scenes preparations to make this affair so pleasant for all. They were ably supported by the Race Chairpeople, John and Christy Schmitt and George and Mary Barr, in the preparations. Many other volunteers contributed to the day’s success, especially the two Masters of Ceremonies, James and Timmy Tubridy; the members of Engine 217 in Brooklyn and Engine 331 and Ladder 173 in Howard Beach; the kitchen and bar staff in the American Legion; all the wonderful pasta, shepherd’s pie and Irish soda bread cooks; and the raffle sellers who included Luanne Hanning, Jane Tubridy, Mary Kay Flynn, Agatha Holler, and Kathy Horan.

The raffle sponsors included Broad Channel’s the Elite Runner Sports Shop and Grassy Point, Rockaway’s Harbor Light, The New Irish Circle, the Tap and Grill, The Beach Club, and The Wharf, and Long Beach’s The Saloon, The Inn, and Minnesotas.

Each year, the race honors two people for their community involvement. The 2000 honorary marshals were John McEneaney, battalion chief of the Fire Department, New York City, and Jack Connelly, chairman emeritus of the Welsh Run. A very special plaque in honor of the beloved Channel community activist, Joseph Nocerino, was presented to his wife, Denise. The audience cheered loudly in Joe’s memory.

The first male and overall 5K race winner was firefighter and noted triathlete, Pat Kilgallen. Second and third place overall males were Pat Rafferty and Jonathan Walters. First place age-group winners were Kilby Featherston, James Hayden, Tommy Tubridy, Mike Barr, John Brennan, Patrick Featherston, Russell Hauk, Joe Miller, and Bob Davan. Second place winners were Sean Kittle, Sharif Solomon, Matt James, Matt Conklin, John Fallon, James Seaman, Richard Ford, Billy Calahan, and Larry Sweet. Bronze medal winners were Patrick O’Connell, Kevin James, Daniel Kemmet, Walter Zoeller, Thomas Procella, Salvatore Bommarito, and John Flaherty.

The top three female finishers were Lorraine Brown, Helen Kilgallen, also a note triathlete, and Martina Featherston. Gold medal age-group winners were Shinann Featherston, Kerri Ford, Laura Brennan, Catherine Tubridy, Pat Rodgers, Nancy Pacione, and Ann Lundon. Second place winners were Jennifer Mumby, Erin Erdman, Kathleen Monty, Sheila Mortimer, and Carol Ainemann. Bronze winners were Jill Falcone, Marybeth Goldberg, Bethann Featherston, and Helene Flaherty. The Welsh Run also presented several special categories’ awards in the 5k run. The F.D.N.Y. winners were Patrick Savage, Tom Ray, and Tom Touhey, the F.D.N.Y. spouses winners were Joan Porcella, Ann Marie Naughton, and Dawn D’Agostino. The Broad Channel Athletic Club winners were Matthew Conklin, Brian Kittle, and Linda Kittle. The North Channel Yacht Club winners were John Heaphy and Ann Lundon, and the Rockaway Gliders Running Club winners were Juan Peralta, Keith Goldberg and Kathryn Kash.

In the accompanying, smaller, one- mile run the female winners were Caitlin Bartlein, Kiersten Bartlein, Sarah Wieboldt, Cheryl Bently, Veronica Heyer, and Lauren Heyer. The male winners were Sean Mullarkey, Mike O’Connell, Danny Zimmerman, Mark Zimmerman, Tim Zimmerman, and Robert Bartlein.

It was great to again attend the Welsh Run after its one year hiatus. The community enjoyed it.

Return to top

Email Us
Contact Us

Copyright 1999 - 2016 Wave Publishing Co. All Rights Reserved

Neighborhoods | History



Check Out News Podcasts at Blog Talk Radio with Riding the Wave with Mark Healey on BlogTalkRadio